Cultivate Simple Podcast in iTunes Chiot's Run on Facebook Chiot's Run on Twitter Chiot's Run on Pinterest Chiot's Run on Flickr RSS Feed StumbleUpon

Welcome Dailon

April 16th, 2013

A funny thing happened while we were in Colombia, South America in February. We traveled down to take photos and make videos for the non-profit that I work for. While there, we met Dailon. He’s a 21 year old from Ohio, who traveled down to help with the camp project that we’re working on.
dailon (1)
After talking to him throughout the week, he asked if he could come up and visit/stay with us, to be our intern.  He arrived Sunday evening right around dusk.
Dailon 1
The next morning he was already out working in the garden (more about what he’s working on later this week).  Now we have another member of the Chiot’s Run family.
He’s going to be working in the garden and the woodlot in exchange for his room, board and a small stipened. It’s a good thing I have more garden space, we’ll definitely need it to grow enough vegetables for him. I have to remember to plant two or three times as much of everything. We’re even getting him his own flock of chickens. No doubt you’ll be seeing more of Dailon throughout the summer.
Dailon 2
It will be nice to have him around. Since Mr Chiots and I are self employed, it can be difficult to arrange our work to have less of it in the summer and more in the winter as we like.  There are times when we should hire someone part-time to help with certain projects, but we just end up working longer hours ourselves.  We’re swamped with work right now, so it will work out nicely for us to have someone that can put in the hours outside that we can’t.

Do you ever get a helping hand in the garden?

10 Comments to “Welcome Dailon”
  1. Mich on April 16, 2013 at 5:55 am

    I do all of the gardening but my other half JT does the mowing.
    If I need man power to move something heavy or I need a trailer of muck then he’s my extra set of hands in the garden.
    We make a good team :)

    Reply to Mich's comment

  2. BJ on April 16, 2013 at 7:43 am

    Looking forward to meeting him…if he ever runs out of things to do at your place send him down the road. I am sure I can find something for him to do here…LOL!

    Reply to BJ's comment

    • Jennifer Fisk on April 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

      You beat me to it. I’ll offer him a Lobster dinner among other meals along with a place to sleep if he would like a weekend on MDI. Some work and lots of play time.

      Reply to Jennifer Fisk's comment

  3. KimH on April 16, 2013 at 8:18 am

    M’honey helps a little bit if I ask.. He does do an initial tilling at the community garden to break up the soil and he helps water sometimes.. but thats about it.

    I have “helpers” who are 2,8, & 12 but thats a whole different sort of help. ;)

    Reply to KimH's comment

  4. DebbieB on April 16, 2013 at 8:21 am

    Welcome, Dailon – looking forward to seeing all the projects that can be accomplished with a third pair of hands!

    Reply to DebbieB's comment

  5. Johanna on April 16, 2013 at 9:18 am

    How fun! This is going to be such a great experience for him. And yes, be sure you plant three times the amount of food…at least!

    Most of the garden work is done by me, but on occasion I get a little help from my husband, a.k.a my “farmhand”. He gets rewarded by me planting some of his favorite veggies – eggplants, broccoli, and lots of greens!

    Reply to Johanna's comment

  6. judym on April 16, 2013 at 10:02 am

    Our almost 12 year old granddaughter will be earning money for a school trip by helping us clean the chicken coop. A first time experience for all of us. Ah, Spring! And definitely a lesson in humility!

    Reply to judym's comment

  7. whit on April 16, 2013 at 11:26 am

    In the words of Vito Corleone: “Welcome to the family.”

    This is great news for you all! What a gift two extra hands and tons of elbow grease will be, and Dailon couldn’t find two kinder, smarter people to learn from.

    Here’s to much success…Cheers!

    Reply to whit's comment

  8. Amy S on April 16, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    yes I get help from Me, Myself, and I. lol. It would be so nice to have some help or have a sugar daddy so I can stay home. What’s impressive is having him wanting to do this and learn. You’ll both be great teachers for him.

    Reply to Amy S's comment

  9. Deb on April 16, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Why will he have his own flock of chickens? Just curious. Sounds like it will be great to have the extra help you need. Will enjoy reading od his experiences. I’d love help but mostly do it all myself. Certainly no money to hire help, not enough for ourselves. LOL

    Reply to Deb's comment

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Reading & Watching

Shop through these links and I get a few cents each time. It's not much, but it allows me to buy a new cookbook or new gardening book every couple months. I appreciate your support!


This is a daily journal of my efforts to cultivate a more simple life, through local eating, gardening and so many other things. We used to live in a small suburban neighborhood Ohio but moved to 153 acres in Liberty, Maine in 2012.

Read previous post:
Quote of the Day: Joe Eck & Wayne Winterrowd

Even in the dead of winter, the products of our labor were good. From the freezer we could choose broccoli...